Skip to main content

Table 2 Objectives of the identified professional development and higher education courses

From: Towards an educational data literacy framework: enhancing the profiles of instructional designers and e-tutors of online and blended courses with new competences

Learning objectives Professional development and higher education coursesa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Understand and use data effectively      ×     X    
Efficiently collect educational data and metadata from a wide range of data sources for future analyses           X X X
Manipulate the educational datasets that capture the learning experience           X   X
Conduct (basic) data wrangling and analyses      X X X X   X   X
Employ teaching analytics to analyse the lesson plans     X         
Inform teaching and learning decisions     X      X   X  
Deploy personalized support actions for the students             X
Use data-driven methods to answer practical educational questions     X   X X X     
Address evaluation issues, key diagnostic metrics and their uses, and validity issues        X      
Reflect on the teaching practice by combining insights from both teaching and learning analytics     X         
Raise ethics and privacy considerations X     X        
Other learning objectives (non data-related) 3 4 6 1 2 1 3 2 0 5 1 0
  1. a1. Digital Competence (https://www.ntnu.edu/studies/courses/EDU3084#tab=omEmnet); 2. Digital Literacy—Smart Learning (https://www.ntnu.edu/studies/courses/SOS2020/2017/1#tab=omEmnet); 3. Data Literacy 01 (http://artofeducating.com/online-courses/); 4. Analytics for the Classroom Teacher (https://www.edx.org/course/analytics-for-the-classroom-teacher); 5. Learning Analytics Fundamentals (https://www.edx.org/course/learning-analytics-fundamentals-utarlingtonx-link-la-fundx); 6. Big Data and Education (https://www.edx.org/course/big-data-education-pennx-bde1x-0); 7. Data, Analytics and Learning (https://www.edx.org/course/data-analytics-learning-utarlingtonx-link5-10x); 8. Practical Learning Analytics (https://www.edx.org/course/practical-learning-analyticsmichiganx-plax); 9. Data Literacy for School Teachers—EDPZ6012 (https://sydney.edu.au/courses/units-of-study/2018/edpz/edpz6012.html); 10. Advancing computational and data literacy skills schools for life scientists (http://www.nhm.ac.uk/our-science/courses-and-students/advancing-computational-and-data-literacy-for-life-scientists.html); 11. Introduction to Data Wise: A Collaborative Process to Improve Learning & Teaching (https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-to-data-wise-a-collaborative-process?); 12. Using Data to Provide Personalized Student Support (https://www.edx.org/course/using-data-provide-personalized-student-utarlingtonx-link-la-ssax)